Saturday, 6 October 2012

The Supreme Personality of Godhead

Upanishadas have sung praises of supreme person.

Supreme person is eternal.

His powers are also eternal.

Supreme person has infinite number of powers, universes and qualities.

Three main powers of Bhagvan are: Para, Jeev and Maya.

Jeev(souls) are fraction of his Jeev power and Jeev is conscious.

Maya is illusory potency which is inert in nature.

Para or Swarup Shakti is internal potency of Godhead whereas Maya is external potency, whereas Jeev is marginal potency.

Image: Here
There are three types of Jeev:

a. Those who have always been under the influence Maya--for example--most of us.
b. Those who have always been beyond Maya--eternally liberated---for example---those who serve Krishna in Goloka eternally.
c. Those who are not only beyond Maya but are also full of all opulences(infinite fame, power, intellect etc.) because they are plenary portions of Godhead and they are governed by Para Shakti of Godhead. They have power to govern Jeevas.

Supreme personality of Godhead, Shri Krishna, is complete in himself and perfect and infinite. Jeev cannot give anything to Godhead--in fact Jeev's devotion towards him gives him bliss.

Four Types of Bhakti

Supreme personality of Godhead Kapila, who established Samkhya philosophy, told this to his mother Devahuti:

There are four types of Bhakti based on modes of nature in the Bahkta:

1. Tamasika Bhakti: That which is done to hurt others. For example: The devotees like Hiranyakashyapu and Ravana attained siddhis because of their devotion to hurt others. Especially Hiranyakasyapu wanted to take revenge of his brother's death from Vishnu.
image: Kapila teaches Devahuti
2. Rajasika Bhakti: That which is done with an urge to get fame and power in world along with material pleasures of all types. For example: Dhruva's devotion was to get material pleasure. 

3. Sattvik Bhakti: That which is done when mode of goodness dominates in the devotee. For example: Bhagirath's devotion to bring Ganges for salvation of his kith and kin.

4. Nirguna Bhakti: Beyond all gunas---only for supreme personality Godhead Shri Krishna; incessant devotion by means of Kirtan, listening and chanting and it increases love towards Krishna continuously. It gives bliss.